The Account Rights Roles page lets you set up account rights roles to assign to users.
Once within the Accounting software, look for the Navigation Panel on the left side of the screen.
- Select Security Setup.
- Select the third option, Account Rights Roles.
Account Rights Roles Grid
The Account Rights Roles are listed in a grid below the link. The Account Rights Role Name and Users columns appear on the grid.
- Click the Add New Account Rights Role link to add a new Account Rights Role.
- Click the Edit icon to edit an Account Rights Role.
- Click the Delete icon to remove the Account Rights Role. If you remove the Account Rights Role, the role is automatically removed from any users assigned to it.
- Click the Copy icon to create a copy of an existing Account Rights role. (The new role is created by appending the word "copy" to the end of the Account Rights role name.)
- Hover over the User icon to view users assigned to that Account Rights role.
Account Rights Roles > Update
The Account Rights Roles > Update page allows you to set the level and account permissions for an account rights role and assign that role to users. Enter the Account Rights Role Name and a Note if desired. There are two tabs: Account Rights and Users.
Account Rights Tab
The Account Rights tab lets you set access rights for account structures and accounts.
- Click the Add New Role Detail link to specify the account structure and accounts.
- Click the Edit icon to make changes to a Role detail.
- Click the Delete icon to remove a Role detail.
- When editing a detail line, you can specify a Company, Fund, Department, and an Account Range. Click the OK button to save the details.
Note: This example shows how the Account Range can be left blank to give account rights to all accounts within a specific department.
Leaving Fields Blank
When adding a detail line, you can leave fields such as Company, Fund, and Department blank. For example, if you wanted to give rights to account 52250 in all companies, you could specify a range of "52250 - 52250" without specifying any levels above it.
To specify a single account number, you can leave either the first or the second range field blank instead of entering the account number in both fields.
Account Ranges
When using an Account Range, the fields behave in the following fashion:
- 0-52250: A zero in the first field and 52250 in the second field indicates you want all accounts less than or equal to 52250 for that line.
- 52250-0: The number 52250 in the first field and a zero in the second field indicates you want all accounts greater than or equal to 52250 for that line.
- 52250-59999: The numbers 52250 in the first field and 59999 in the second field indicate you want all accounts between 52250 and 59999 for that line.
Income & Expense Accounts
When specifying only Income and Expense accounts, the role must also have rights to at least one bank account established in Bank Account Management. If a user does not have permission to an existing bank account, they cannot select it in Current Financial Settings.
The Omit Access Check Box
There is also an Omit Access check box. This check box allows you to specify which accounts and account structures a role does not have access to.
- If all Account Rights detail lines assigned to a user have the Omit Access option checked, the user, by default, has rights to ANY and ALL other account structures and accounts.
- If both Omit Access and Non-Omit Access detail lines are assigned to a user, the user has rights only to the Non-Omit Access detail lines.
- When the Omit Access and Non-Omit Access rights overlap, then the Omit Access detail lines overrule the Non-Omit Access detail lines.
Users Tab
The Users tab allows you to assign an Account Rights Role to users.
Once an Account Rights Role is assigned to a user, that user has all the access rights specified for that role.
- Click and drag the appropriate users from the List of All Users box to the Assigned User(s) box.
- Click Save to save any information that has been added or edited.
- Click the Reset link to restore the page to its state before any changes were made.
- Click the Cancel link to leave the page without saving any changes and return to the previous page.
Updated